Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

PBS LearningMedia Announces Educators Selected for the PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators Program

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Bookmark and Share

PBS LearningMedia has announced the 100 educators selected for the 2014 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators program. The program rewards tech-savvy K-12 educators from across the country who are serving as leaders in the education technology space and incorporating digital media in classrooms to promote student engagement and achievement through year-long hands-on and virtual professional development opportunities.

The 2014 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators will receive year-long professional development opportunities that include virtual trainings, access to premium and exclusive resources, and invitations to special events. In addition, the top 16 applicants will serve as leads of the program and will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, DC, to participate in a two-day digital education summit where participants will engage in hands-on learning, collaborate with peers and hear from digital technology thought leaders.

The 2014 Lead PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators are listed below. The full list of PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators is available at

  • Steve Beard – Thomas Edison High School, Portland, OR (Oregon Public Broadcasting)

  • Stephanie Berry – Basic High School, Henderson, NV (Vegas PBS)

  • Leslie Ceballos – Carolyn Bukhair Elementary, Dallas, TX (KERA)

  • Alice Chen – Suzanne Middle School, Walnut, CA (PBS SoCal)

  • Robert Culp – Joliet Public School District 86, Joliet, IL (WTTW)

  • Ryan Devlin – Brockway Area Junior/Senior High School, Brockway, PA (WPSU)

  • Scott Frizzell – Harding Academy of Memphis, Memphis, TN (WKNO)

  • Susan Gauthier – Sherwood Middle Academic Magnet School, Baton Rouge, LA (LPB)

  • Don Goble – Ladue Horton Watkins High School, Saint Louis, MO (Nine Network of Public Media)

  • Mig Hayes – Carolina Friends School, Durham, NC (UNC-TV)

  • Julie Hildebrand – Patton Elementary School, Austin, TX (KLRU)

  • Kimberly Lynch – Francis Wyman School, Burlington, MA (WGBH)

  • Lesley McClendon – Shiloh Middle School, Atlanta, GA (Georgia Public Broadcasting)

  • Philip McIntosh – Challenger Middle School, Colorado Springs, CO (Rocky Mountain PBS)

  • Morgan Nickolai – Sidney High School, Sidney, OH (ThinkTV)

  • Holly Whitt – Walnut Grove Elementary, New Market, AL (Alabama Public Television)

PBS LearningMedia received hundreds of applications from leading teachers throughout the U.S. and its territories. A group of judges selected the 100 educators based on submissions of videos and written essays that addressed how they are leading innovation in digital teaching in their classrooms and schools.

Source: PBS LearningMedia,

Blank gif