Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

SIGTel Online Learning Award Winners

Posted May 29, 2006
Bookmark and Share

Jodie Prazak of Piitoayis Family School and Jennifer George of Prince of Wales School, both of Calgary, Alberta (Canada), are the first place winners of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) 2006 SIGTel Online Learning Awards. The awards recognize creative educators worldwide for their pioneering use of telecommunications networks to provide innovative learning opportunities for K-16 students.

Second place went to the team of Susan Gorenke of the University of Tennessee-Knoxville and Joelle Maples of South Doyle Middle School, both of Knoxville, Tennessee (U.S.). Third place was awarded to Jennifer Wagner of Crossroads Christian Schools in Corona, California (U.S.).

Recognized as Highly Commended were:

April Chamberlain of Paine Intermediate School in Trussville, AL (U.S.)

Steve Feld of John F. Kennedy High School in New York, NY (U.S.) and Lynette Ardis of Thomas Hepburn Community School (England)

Kristin Hokanson, Upper Merion Area School District, King of Prussia, PA (U.S.), Michael Baker, South Side School District, Hookstown, PA (U.S.), Tracey McGrath, Philadelphia School District, PA (U.S.)

Darren Kuropatwa, Daniel McIntyre Collegiate Institute, Manitoba (Canada)

Julie Lindsay, International School Dhaka, Dhaka (Bangladesh) and John Turner, Presbyterian Ladies' College, Burwood, Victoria (Australia)

Al P. Mizell Nova Southeastern University, North Miami Beach, FL (U.S.)

Walter McKenzie, Public Schools of Northborough and Southborough Amesbury, MA (U.S.)

Michelle Speight, Calgary Board of Education, Calgary, Alberta (Canada), plus numerous partners and contributors.

The award winners are invited to present a Web poster session about their project at the National Educational Computing Conference 2006 in San Diego, CA. They also receive a standard ISTE and SIGTel membership.

Complete information on the awards appears online at

ISTE, 800/336-5191 or

Blank gif