Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

AASL Presents 2005 Awards

Posted Jul 19, 2005
Bookmark and Share

The American Association of School Libraries (AASL), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), has announced the 2005 recipients of its annual awards.

The AASL Collaborative School Library Media Award, sponsored by the Sagebrush Corporation, presented $2,500 to Valerie Edwards, a school library media specialist at Monona (WI) Grove High School. The award recognizes and encourages collaboration and partnerships between school library media specialists and teachers in meeting goals through joint planning of a program, unit or event in support of the curriculum and using media center resources.

The AASL/Highsmith Research Grant was awarded for a research project titled "School Virtual Libraries: The Influences of Best Practices on High School Students' Information Seeking," submitted by Joyce Valenza from Rydel, PA. The grant, sponsored by The Highsmith Co., Inc., encourages innovative research aimed at measuring and evaluating the effect of school library media programs on education. The monetary award can be as high as $5,000, based on research expenses.

The ABC-CLIO Leadership Grant, funded by ABC-CLIO Schools, was awarded to the Wisconsin Educational Media Association (WEMA). The grant, which can be as much as $1,750, is given to school library media associations that are AASL affiliates for planning and implementing leadership programs at the state, regional or local level.

The Distinguished Service Award, sponsored by Baker & Taylor, went to Rebecca Bingham, a past president of AASL and a leader in ALA and state library organizations. The $3,000 award recognizes an individual member of the library profession who, over a significant period of time, has made an outstanding national contribution to school librarianship and school library development.

The Distinguished School Administrator Award, sponsored by SIRS/ProQuest, was awarded to Michael Hart, a principal at Holy Rosary School in Tacoma, WA. The award of $2,000 is given to a school administrator who has made worthy contributions to the operations of an exemplary school library media center and to advancing the role of the school library media center in the educational program.

The Frances Henne Award, sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, went to John McDonald of Connersville Middle School in Hagerstown, IN. The award is given to a school library media specialist with five or fewer years in the field, to be used to attend an ALA annual conference or AASL national conference for the first time.

The Intellectual Freedom Award, sponsored by ProQuest, was awarded to Ann Ewbank for fighting book removals and making changes in access to materials for students at Cholla Middle School in Phoenix, AZ. The award of $2,000 to the recipient and $1,000 to the media center of the recipient's choice is given for upholding the AASL and ALA principles of intellectual freedom.

The School Librarian's Workshop Scholarship, sponsored by Jay W. Toor, president of Library Learning Resources, was awarded to Elizabeth Fisher of Radnor, PA. The $3,000 scholarship provides financial assistance for the professional education of an individual who plans to become a school library media specialist.

Source: AASL/ALA, 800/545-2433 or

Blank gif