Blank gif
Section1
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

Free Resources: “The Festival of Authors” in Teen Second Life

Posted Jan 28, 2008
Bookmark and Share

The Public Library of Charlotte & Mecklenburg County (PLCMC), TeachingBooks.net, and Chicago Public Schools Department of Libraries and Information Services are producing and hosting “A Festival of Authors,” a virtual literary celebration that will take place Saturday, February 2, from 10 am to 2 pm PST (1 pm – 5 pm EST), in Teen Second Life. This event will showcase selected authors of young adult literature for a teen audience in an exhibition that provides author information and links to podcasts, videoclips, and a wealth of author website links. There will also be avatar appearances by noted authors Marc Aronson (10 am PST/1pm EST), Barry Lyga (11 am PST/2pm EST), and Carol Baldwin (12 pm PST/3pm EST) on the teen grid.

 

Teen Second Life (http://teen.secondlife.com) is a 3D virtual world where teens can learn valuable 21st century skills and build a variety of developmental assets as they engage with their peers from all over the world, communicate in multiple media formats, and express their identities through their own virtual appearances.

 

For details, visit this blog site: http://blogs.cuip.net/dlis/festival-of-authors. [Note to adults - A similar exhibition will be taking place on the main grid of Second Life at the same time. See the blog site for more information.]

 

Source: TeachingBooks.net, www.teachingbooks.net


 
Blank gif