Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

PBS TeacherLine Partners With Universities to Offer Graduate Credit for Online Professional Development

Posted Nov 23, 2009
Bookmark and Share

PBS TeacherLine has announced that, through new partnerships, teachers can earn graduate credit from Central Michigan University, Northwest Nazarene University, and Madonna University for completing its online professional development services for preK-12 educators courses.

Central Michigan University, Northwest Nazarene, and Madonna Universities are the latest of 28 higher education institutions to partner with PBS TeacherLine, which offers more than 130 online facilitator-led courses in reading, math, science, instructional technology, and instructional strategies. Teachers can chose to earn graduate credit for completion of PBS TeacherLine's online professional development courses through these universities, or through the other 25 national and local graduate credit providers.

Using digital media, and technologies such as audio, video, interactives, and online discussions, PBS TeacherLine courses provide a collaborative learning environment for teachers to enhance their knowledge and skills. Teachers learn practical, research-based strategies that they can apply immediately to their classrooms to increase student achievement, according to the announcement.

Central Michigan University, Northwest Nazarene and Madonna Universities are national graduate credit providers for PBS TeacherLine, along with Adams State College in Alamosa, Colo., and Indiana University Bloomington. When enrolling in courses for graduate credit, teachers can choose from any of the five national providers, or from the local providers, depending on where they live. The local graduate credit providers are: University of Colorado at Colorado Springs; Marian College (Ind.); Iowa State University; Drake University (Iowa); Merrimack College (Mass.); Westfield State College (Mass.); Minnesota State University Moorhead; Mississippi College; University of Nevada, Reno; Plymouth State University (N.H.); University of New Mexico; North Dakota State University; United Tribes Technical College (N.D.); University of North Dakota; Ashland University (Ohio); Cleveland State University (Ohio); Notre Dame College (Ohio); The University of Akron (Ohio); Seton Hill University (Penn.); Tennessee State University; James Madison University (Va.); Seattle Pacific University (Wash.); and Viterbo University (Wisc.).


For more information about PBS TeacherLine, or to view the course catalog, visit Enrollment for the winter term is open, and national online courses start Jan. 27, 2010 (local courses may have a different start date). Courses start at $169. There is an additional fee to take courses for graduate credit.


Source: PBS TeacherLine,

Blank gif