Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

NECC News: Adobe Announces Winners of the 2009 School Innovation Awards

Posted Jun 30, 2009
Bookmark and Share

Adobe Systems Incorporated has announced the winners of the 2009 Adobe School Innovation Awards. The program honors the creative and innovative work of high school students in the U.S. and Canada. The purpose of the School Innovation Awards is to engage students in their own learning and to showcase the talents of high school students across North America. With the theme "The World is Your Stage," students submitted more than 430 projects in three categories: Graphic and Print Design, Film and Video, and Web Design and Development.


The Best-of-the-Best winner was presented to Xizi Chen, Elizabeth Carp, Stephanie Yang, and Qiuling Zakaroff from Bergen County Academies in Hackensack, N.J., for "The MANNIS Project - Jens' Adventure," a telling of the story of a photographer and a city.


The winners of the three categories were:


·         Braighton Polack from Abbotsford Traditional Secondary School in Abbotsford, British Columbia, for "Simulation Sixty-Seven" in the Graphic and Print Design category.


·         Michael Hoff and Tim Jacob from Bellarmine College Preparatory School in San Jose, Calif., for "Beating the Unbeatable: Joe Wise," in the Film and Video category.


·         Xizi Chen, Elizabeth Carp, Stephanie Yang and Qiuling Zakaroff from Bergen County Academies in Hackensack, N.J., for "The MANNIS Project - Jens' Adventure" for the Web Design and Development category.


The winning entries were recognized at a ceremony on June 29 at the National Education Computing Conference (NECC) in Washington, D.C. They are now available for viewing at


Winners were selected by a panel of judges based on their originality and effectiveness in communicating project objectives. Judges included members of the Adobe Education Leader group, Adobe employees, and industry luminaries.


The Best-of-the-Best winner will receive their choice of Adobe Creative Suite 4 Web Premium, Design Premium or Production Premium and be recognized by Adobe in their community. Additionally, the winning student’s school will be awarded a 30 seat site license of Adobe Creative Suite 4 Master Collection.


Adobe will continue the Adobe School Innovation Awards Program for the 2009/2010 school year and will re-open the competition this fall.

Source: Adobe Systems Incorporated,

Blank gif