Blank gif
Section1
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

ISTE Webinar: Intro to Geocaching

Posted Sep 12, 2008
Bookmark and Share

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) presents an "Introduction to Geocaching" Webinar on Sept. 24 at 1 p.m. Pacific/2 p.m. Mountain/3 p.m. Central/4 p.m. Eastern time.

Basically, geocaching is outdoor treasure hunting guided by GPS devices. There are estimated to be more than 653,000 active geocaches around the world. The activity has its own Web site, www.geocaching.com.

The ISTE session will focus on the use of GPS receivers and geocaching to transform classrooms into exploratory environments focused on student engagement in the learning process. Educators will learn how GPS units and geocaching can be used as multidisciplinary, inquiry-driven, field-based tools useful across the curriculum to instill in students a curiosity about geography, science, mathematics, and the world in which we live.

Webinar presenter Dr. Alice Christie will offer strategies and examples designed to illustrate the fun and challenge of geocaching as a component of active learning.

The Webinar is priced at $50 for ISTE members and $125 for non-members. A Season Webinar Pass is available for $795 for ISTE members.

ISTE, www.iste.org.


 
Blank gif