Blank gif
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

High School Emmy Awards Program

Posted Jan 25, 2006
Bookmark and Share

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) has launched an Emmy Awards program for high school students. The program recognizes outstanding student television or Webcast productions that have been broadcast, cablecast, or Webcast between February 1, 2005 and January 31, 2006.

Entries are accepted in seven program categories: News, Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs, Documentary, Sports, Hubbard Family Public Affairs/Community Service/Public Service, Technical Achievement, and Writing. The entries are judged first for their regional chapters' Awards for Excellence. The regional winners are judged a second time to select a national winner in each category.

Applicants must be currently enrolled as full time students at the time of the awards' application deadline—February 18, 2006. Students are not required to be members of NATAS to enter the competition.

A non-refundable $25 entry fee is required; scholarships to pay this fee are available through the 20 regional NATAS chapters.

This year's competition is sponsored by TimeWarner. Complete details and online registration information can be found at

Source: National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences/National Television Academy,

Blank gif