Blank gif
Section1
An Educator's Guide to Technology and the Web
Search Internet@Schools
Subscribe Today!

View Current Issue
View Past Issues

Internet @ Schools

ALA’s Association for Library Service to Children Announces Exceptional Web Sites for Children

Posted Nov 14, 2008
Bookmark and Share

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association, has added Web sites this fall to Great Web Sites for Kids (www.ala.org/greatsites), its online resource containing hundreds of links to commendable Web sites for children.

 

Great Web Sites for Kids (GWS) features links to valuable Web sites of interest to children, organized by subject headings such as animals; literature and languages; mathematics and computers; the arts; and history and biography. There is also a special section with sites of interest to parents, caregivers and teachers, plus an area devoted to sites in Spanish. The ALSC Great Web Sites for Kids Committee maintains and updates the site.

 

ALSC’s GWS Committee voted to add the following sites in fall 2008:

·                     Adolescent Literacy - www.adlit.org

·                     Bob the Builder - www.bobthebuilder.com/usa/intro.html

·                     Career Information for Kids - http://www.bls.gov/k12/

·                     The Children’s Book Review - www.thechildrensbookreview.com

·                     Exploring Nature Educational Resource - www.exploringnature.org

·                     The Federal Communications Commission Kids Zone – www.fcc.gov/cgb/kidszone

·                     GoGooligans - www.gogooligans.com

·                     The Harry Potter Lexicon - www.hp-lexicon.org

·                     Leading to Reading - www.rif.org/leadingtoreading/en/

·                     Nutrition Explorations: Kids - www.nutritionexplorations.com/kids/main.asp

·                     The Road to the Capitol/National Mock Election - www.nationalmockelection.org/game/

·                     Vicki Cobb’s Science Page - www.vickicobb.com

·                     We Shall Overcome Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement National Register Travel Itinerary - www.nps.gov/history/NR/travel/civilrights

·                     Ziggity Zoom - www.ziggityzoom.com

·                     ZOOM by Kids, for Kids! - http://pbskids.org/zoom/help/contact/general.html

 

Members of the 2008 Great Web Sites for Kids Committee are: Karen Lemmons, co-chair, Howe Elementary School, Detroit; Becki Bishop, co-chair, Campbell Court Elementary School, Bassett, Va.; Amy Brown, Worthington Libraries, Columbus, Ohio; Robin Gibson, Granville, Ohio; Diana McFarland, Brunswick, Maine; Carla Morris, Provo City (Utah) Library; Marilyn Sobotincic, Medina County (Ohio) District Library; Terrell Young, Washington State University, Richland.

The complete listing of great sites with annotations and selection criteria can be found at www.ala.org/greatsites

Source: ALA, www.ala.org


 
Blank gif